Writer of the City of Graz

The city of Graz awards the “Writer of the City of Graz” scholarship each year. It includes the provision of an apartment for free in the Cerrini-Schloessl on the Schlossberg, from September of the year of awarding until August 31st of the following year, and a monthly allowance of EURO 1.100,–. The Kulturvermittlung Steiermark will supervise the guest in consultation with the City of Graz-Department for Cultural Affairs. 

The intention is to promote writers who show innovative ability and examination of current subject matters, quality in aesthetic and linguistic terms, authenticity and artistic independence. The residence in Graz should contribute to cultural exchange and interaction with the local literature scene. The scholarship holders explicitly agree to stay in Graz for at least 8 months during this period.


Deadline for Applications:

Intercultural Achievement Award

The Intercultural Achievement Award (IAA), which was initiated in 2014, awards successful and solution oriented projects that operate under the umbrella of intercultural dialogue both within Austria as well as on a global scale.The award is open to all those who identify and make use of opportunities which positively shape intercultural co-existence. It is also designed for those who have successfully explored new pathways within intercultural dialogue, who have mastered a specific challenge through intercultural action, and who have promoted the dialogue of cultures and religions through their media presence.

The Austrian Federal Ministry for Europe, Integration and Foreign Affairs has defined the “Dialogue of Cultures” to be a priority in International Policy. Thereby, Austria builds upon a long tradition in the field of intercultural dialogue that is deeply rooted in a history of diversity and pluralism and has been strengthened through multi- and bilateral dialogue initiatives.

Intercultural dialogue has to be understood both as subject matter as well as a method. On the one hand, intercultural dialogue helps to better master the challenges of a pluralist society. On the other hand, dialogue needs to be better comprehended and applied as a tool and it needs to be developed in a way that can be used for the realization of public concerns.

Also in 2017 projects in the fields of media/journalism, arts/culture, youth, women, Global Citizenship Education and Integration will be awarded with the IAA. In addition to the “Sustainability” prize category, which has high requirements and can therefore be seen as the main prize, there are the categories “Actuality”, “Innovation”, “Media Prize” and a special award for “Integration in Austria”.Non-profit-organizations including associations, foundations etc., privat-sector organizations as well as individuals can submit their project until 12. April 2017.

The admission form can be found here.


Application Deadline: 12 April 2017

Please e-mail your application to: dialog@bmeia.gv.at

European Forum Alpbach

The European Forum Alpbach is an interdisciplinary platform for science, politics, business and culture. At their annual event, the “European Forum Alpbach” held in the Tyrolean mountain village of Alpbach for almost three weeks, speakers and participants from all parts of the world, experts, decision-makers and students, come together to discuss current issues and to formulate interdisciplinary solutions. The topic for 2017’s event will be “Conflict and Cooperation”. For this unique event and the seminars, breakout sessions and plenary debates that take place there scholarships are allocated.


Pris Ars Electronica 2017

Entries for the world’s most time-honored media arts competition “Pri Ars Electronica 2017” are now being accepted! The categories in 2017 are Computer Animation/Film/VFX, Digital Musics & Sound Art, and Hybrid Art. The u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD category is for youngsters under age 19 in Austria. The Prix Ars Electronica is the world’s most time-honored media arts competition. Winners are awarded the coveted Golden Nica statuette, prize money ranging up to € 10,000 per category and an opportunity to showcase their talents at the famed Ars Electronica Festival in Linz.